Nantucket by Design 2016

We are looking with great anticipation to Nantucket Historical Association’s Nantucket by Design.

Building on 38 years of the August Antiques Show and the Antiques and Design Show of Nantucket, the Nantucket Historical Association is premiering its 2016 Nantucket by Design week of events, its summer fundraiser, August 2-7, 2016.

Every summer I look forward to this event – and to the All-Star Design Panel. As one of the three original designer panelists, I was honored and humbled when asked in 2013 to take over and moderate the much anticipated event. Each year I am pleased to select and invite the panelists – some of the most talented and elite Designers in the industry. Through moderated discussion, panelists talk about the latest trends in home decoration, as well as offer advice and insight.

This year the panel will be held on August 4th at 6 PM at the Whaling Museum (13 Broad Street).  This will be followed by a cocktail reception on the museum’s rooftop observation deck.  This year’s All-Star Design Panel includes: Nancy Braithwaite, James Huniford, Juan Montoya, Charles Pavarini and Suzanne Rheinstein.

Also this year during Nantucket by Design Week, students from New York School of Interior Design, my alma mater, will design vignettes to be on view at the NHA’s Oldest House Historic property – 16 Sunset Hill. Please visit to learn more about the week’s events.

Students preparing for Nantucket by Design


A few notable Designers from years past include: Mario Buatta, David Easton, Jamie Drake, Thom Filicia, Suzanne Kasler, Amanda Lindroth, Charlotte Moss, Matthew Patrick Smyth, and Suzanne Tucker.

We look forward to seeing you in August!

Meanwhile, please take a look at some pictures from last year’s event.

Last year, preparing before the event starts!

NHA Designer Panel

Addressing the crowd!

The packed house!

NHA Designer Panel

Introducing the lovely panelists as the Moderator of the event!

NHA Designer Panel

2015 Panelists (from left to right): Suzanne Kasler, Amanda Lindroth, Charlotte Moss, Matthew Patrick Smyth and Suzanne Tucker.

NHA Designer Panel

Accepting the beautiful flowers I was given as a thank you!

NHA Designer Panel